Richard Armitage is coming to the Great Lakes region!

We’re told that shooting begins shortly in Detroit for Mr. Armitage’s next project. He may be there already!

That it will be photographed roughly in my part of the world, and that Mr. Armitage will thus come here, even though he will be hundreds of miles away, pleases me no end. (Not much film-making takes place in Wisconsin. I can remember two. And Detroit heavily subsidizes film production.)

I’ve lived in six distinct regions of the U.S. during my life, so I’d never dare to say that any of them was the “real” United States (my cranky, chronic California allergy notwithstanding). But the Great Lakes / Upper Midwest is the landscape that will always make me feel most at home, so when I think of introducing any visitor to the U.S., this is the part I want to show off. When I tell friends from elsewhere “what the U.S. is like,” this is the part I am thinking of.

We don’t have towering mountains or ancient redwoods or bleak deserts, it’s true, but our lakes are amazing. If you have a little time to learn, you can learn to read the progress of the glacier in the landscape, as we have many unique and striking rock formations. Every city in the Great Lakes Region is just a little different and has its own particular charm. And Great Lakes city-dwellers are hardly jaded urbanites — they know how to go out into the country and enjoy it because the countryside is minutes from the city and their friends and relatives live there. Maybe it’s just because I’ve been looking at them for a long time, but there’s a still simplicity in the rural landscape of corn and hay fields, in the red barns and silos and dairy herds, that makes a drive in the country a pure pleasure.

July is the month when all the local berries come into season in the Great Lakes region. Strawberries are mostly finished, but the farmers will have raspberries, blackberries, blueberries for sale, as well as some late cherries. Come pick your own! And in August, everything we’ve been waiting for will be ripe: melons and especially the sweet corn. Peppers and melons are predicted to be especially good this year because of the record temperatures. We have luscious dairy — and the cows are fresh all summer — and the fish from the fresh-water lakes has its own distinctive flavor.

Mr. Armitage, I hope you have at least a little time to enjoy Michigan. Midwesterners are traditionally friendly and down-to-earth folks who are rarely in a hurry and have little investment in image. Lots of people think we’re simple; and maybe we are. But we’re not boring! If a crew member invites you home to grill, say yes, and get a taste of our traditional summer cuisine, which is not light, but oh so tasty. Eat just a little too much when your host presses you to eat an extra slice of blackberry pie. Rent a car, drive around, and buy a little produce from a road-side stand. Wander through the woods. Check out Lake Erie and the dunes. And take a few days and drive up to the U.S.-Canada border and cross the locks into Sault St. Marie. Yes, you’d be living out a Servetus family vacation. But it will be cooler there. And the shores of Lake Superior and the lake itself are among the most beautiful things I’ve seen anywhere in the world.

Welcome to the Great Lakes, Mr. Armitage. I so hope you enjoy your stay!

~ by Servetus on July 23, 2012.

43 Responses to “Richard Armitage is coming to the Great Lakes region!”

  1. Awesome. Now I want to go there. Like, right now.

    Like

  2. You know I’m a southern girl, but I lived in and traveled through the Great Plains/Midwest for a decade and there’s lots to appreciate there.

    Speaking of fruit Our blueberry harvest is pretty much over here from the bushes in our yard, but we’ve got some in the freezer. I so fondly remember my mother’s and grandmother’s homemade blackberry jelly and cobbler made with the berries fresh out of the oven with a generous dollop of vanilla ice cream. Oh dear, you’ve made me hungry.

    No offense to Detroit, but I do hope he is able to get out of the city and into the countryside during the shoot.

    And I will never forget those strapping Scandanavian lads who lifted my rear-wheel car back onto the road when I ran off it during my first South Dakota winter.
    “Thanks, guys.” “Ohhh-you betcha.” 🙂

    Like

    • Why are Scandinavian lads all strapping I wonder? 🙂

      Like

    • The berries and everything else were early this year.

      There’s a lot to like about the Detroit area culturally — it gets a bad rap for various reasons, but if you like rap music …

      Like

  3. I grew up just a few miles from lake Erie. Summer days at the beach are an indelible part of my childhood memories. Yes, we are much less urbane, fashion-conscious, and hurried than our big city cousins – and we prefer it that way. I live in California, but I doubt it will ever really be ‘home.’
    I hope Richard has a wonderful experience getting to know a little more of the less glamorous sections of our country, where the people are down-to-earth. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m sure there are down to earth parts of California, too, but yeah, the pace of life in the middle of the country is a great deal more enjoyable from my perspective 🙂

      Like

  4. Well said. As a transplanted Minnesota native with some ties to Michigan, I agree completely. i sincerely hope that he is able to see more than Detroit while he is here!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment, and welcome, Kristi. I hope he gets out a little — maybe a crew member will invite him to take a little trip or something.

      Like

  5. Woah! What’s this I read of a chronic California allergy?? Whhaaa?

    Surely, you knew this would be the only line I’d see – much like reading your entire ‘smoking’ post, and becoming transfixed by a tiny side reference to CAFFEINE. 😉

    Well, I suppose that famous LA basketball franchise did hail from the Great Lakes region, ‘Land of 10,000 Lakes’ – making a whole lot more sense for a name like the ‘Lakers”! 🙂

    I think it’s a terrific progression for RA to work in the US – that is, after all, where the money is in terms of film and tv series production. I saw James Purefoy recently on an episode of Episodes. He had a fantastic American accent. I couldn’t even place him for a few minutes as a result!

    I also hope Mr. A enjoys the area (at least as much as young Hiddleston did) although to be honest, I’d still prefer a filming location in Chicago – preferably on an elevated train platform, and with the sign ‘Armitage’ prominently displayed behind him. 😀

    Like

    • It’s true, sadly 🙂 It’s not as bad as it used to be, and there are pieces of CA I like (LAX, for instance). And if he picked up the Michigan accent, that would be fine with me. I hope he gets to Chicago regardless of where he’s photographed — it’s such a great city.

      Like

  6. Just drove up through northern MI and it was BEAUTIFUL. Michigan is a great state to visit, lots of clean bathrooms too. 🙂

    Like

    • yes, Mackinac. He can reacquaint himself with horses.

      Like

    • @Rob, as someone with IBS and a few family members with Crohn’s I know how important clean bathrooms are!! Sorry if that’s a bit TMI! 😦

      Like

      • We really believe in clean public bathrooms in the Midwest. I remember how astounded I was the first time I left the Midwest and discovered it wasn’t a universal value, lol 🙂

        Like

  7. I hope he does pop over the Border while he’s there. It would be nice to think of him in Canada!! 🙂 I could suggest that if he has to head back to NZ after this, he does a stop-over in Vancouver! Not likely to happen but a girl can dream, can’t she? 😉

    Like

  8. He’ll be out in the ‘burbs if he’s filming in Pontiac, but I hope he gets *into* Detroit proper. The city gets a bad rap, and they’ve been through hard times, but there’s also a lot of really cool stuff happening there. I’d recommend bbq at Slow’s, cocktails at Sugar House, and the urban folk art at the Heidelberg Project. And definitely a trip up to the beautiful northern part of the state if he gets a chance! (I’m on the western side of the state, in Grand Rapids. Sadly, I doubt he’ll come over here, but I have recs for that, too. Just saying, Mr. Armitage.)

    Can’t believe he’s going to be–or may already be–in the mitten state!

    Like

    • thanks for the commet, and welcome, Karen.

      The insider tips are really great. I’m a sort of a closet Grand Rapids fan, as Eerdmans is located there.

      Like

  9. Me too Gisbornesboy,badly… but then again everybody wants this in my country:D

    Like

    • and boy, a lot of Poles have come to the Midwest.

      I have to say, I really like having their kids in my classes. Those kids are smart and not afraid to work.

      Like

  10. Sounds amazing….I’m afraid the nearest my family and I will get this year is Orlando!….not quite the same but we love coming to the USA …will have to put this on our bucket list!

    Like

  11. […] live in a terrific area!  To learn a bit more, head on over here and let Servetus tell you all about it.     Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the […]

    Like

  12. Sadly, the Great Lakes of the US are way too far for me to travel to (plus I have this weird fear of flying over the Ocean- strange,because I have no problem whatever with short haul flights), so I’m planning to visit the Great Lakes in Northern Italy one day…It’s on my bucket list.. 🙂

    Like

    • the lakes in Italy are smaller and somehow more Italian. The US Great Lakes are … hmmm. Huge. They make you feel very small.

      Like

  13. Come on now!! Not that the fact that RA will be near by doesn’t produce the same effect but your discription made me want to go back up to visit home (Gurnee, Il.) as well as visit my brother who lives in Michigan, two hours from Detriot. I don’t miss the northern winters but I do long for the days of having a lake around every corner in the summer-lived at the beach as a kid- there is no basking on the beach around here,(fayetteville,nc) without a two hour drive to the ocean.
    And who knows, YOU might get lucky as the film base may be Detriot but the actual filming could happen anywhere- check local film offices(mich, wisc, il) there might even be a call out for extras.

    Like

    • Lol, I can make you miss anything if I just pick the right words. 🙂

      I live way too far away from Detroit to participate in this, but I saw that they studio had called for extras / actors in May, so perhaps they will do so again or have done 🙂

      Like

  14. Rambling Richard might cross the border to Windsor – for no reason other than get a Canadian stamp in his passport. To add to the Hungarian, South African, French and Kiwi stamps. 🙂

    Like

    • Sadly, ever since we joined the EU we don’t get stamps in our passports anymore if we are travelling to another EU country. When I went to Ireland on business this May, I had to ask the immigration officer at the airport to stamp in my passport as a souvenir of my (very short) stay! He obliged grumpily (wasn’t pleased w the extra work I suppose!). 🙂 So I doubt Richard has a stamp from Hungary in his passport. But he has been around the world hasn’t he? 🙂

      Like

      • Oooh, Ireland has a really BIG stamp, too (and very GREEN)!! Takes up half a passport page! Most of my stamps are for re-entry to different ports in the US – but it does help me keep track of all my returns home! 😉

        Like

        • yeah, I’ve had to ask for stamps on some occasions because of my fear of breaking EU immigration law 🙂

          Like

  15. Judit, when a girlfriend and I hitch-hiked across Europe (many years ago!) border people had to hunt for the stamping pad, when we insisted on having our Canadian passports stamped. 😀

    Like

  16. What a warm welcome for RA? Here in the Deep South it’s so hot and humid you don’t want to leave the air conditioning — at least not til the sun goes down.

    Like

    • it’s been like that in most of the Midwest lately, too, unfortunately. I’d been hoping for a cool summer — no dice.

      Like

  17. Here’s hoping athat RA has a lovely time in “our” Midwest. Don’t forget the Art Institute of Chicago–and all of those Monet haystack paintings. It might be rather nostalgic for RA. Ha! And the Chagall windows are worth it if that is the only thing you see.
    Cheers! G

    Like

  18. One of my To-Do things is to do a road trip through the US, at least once. I never get the chance to really see the US beyond the big cities or the most southern tip of Florida. That’s what I get when I visit my relatives 😉

    Like

    • there’s a book you might like: William Least Heat-Moon’s Blue Highways. A bit dated but still very atmospheric.

      Like

  19. The US has some very beautiful scenery. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.