Intermission: Chronicle of a developing obsession

Another Fanstravaganza post is coming, but for some reason I feel the need to write down a progress report on the status of my fandom just now.

We are just about to finish the huge ritual debauch practiced by U.S. universities every year that we call “Spring Break.” In my university city, the students flee for the (relatively nearby) beaches, but the city is flooded by participants in a major arts/media festival. The smart professor flees the city for somewhere entirely different, but I swore the last time I got off an international flight (last August) that I was not getting on a plane again until it was time to go back to Europe. My mother is ill, and I probably should have visited, but she and my father are coming here in about two weeks. So I stayed. Spring Break isn’t really a break for professors, who are usually cleaning up details from the previous weeks (we are about at midterm here) and trying to get their act together for the storm to the end of term. If they have extra time they do professional research.

Though I wrote four book reviews, I have the feeling of not having done much professional work, but I have written about Mr. Armitage every day and thought about him a lot more. In the last week I’ve watched “North & South” three times all the way through (I am writing a study guide for my students, who will be watching and discussing it next week); I’ve rewatched all of “Robin Hood” through 2.6 and watched 2.7-2.9 for the first time; rewatched the first two episodes of “The Impressionists”; listed to the first 3/4 of “Sylvester” at least five times while working in my office; watched Spooks 7.1 and 7.2 three times each; and of course gone through the “Vicar of Dibley” episodes dozens of times in the process of writing quizzes. (I have all of those things in U.S. DVD format.) Still having the problem making myself finish things. I’ve got at least a dozen ideas for blog posts. Also I did the Fanstravaganza every day.

Is this unhealthy?

This week I also received the region-free DVD player that I ordered. This was a huge step for me. I’d say that by and large historians are cultural (though not political) conservatives. Most of us don’t especially like the rate at which technology is changing (though of course there are exceptions). I myself have a tortured relationship with the television. My father is one of those people who has to have the TV on all the time, so turning it on when I walk into my apartment is an automatic impulse that I have to resist. Cable tv is quite expensive here, and so I have never had it when I had to purchase it myself, only when it was provided as part of rental amenities. I am currently living in a cheap student apartment and so I don’t have it. The desire to live without it completely was helped out a great deal by the transition to digital tv in the U.S. last summer; that is, I left the U.S. in May when analog tv was still running; I spent the summer in Germany working and had little/no tv access; I came back to the U.S. and would have had to buy a digital adapter and never did. So the TV was still there, but until last night I hadn’t turned it on since May. I’ve been watching all of this stuff on my computer in the office or on my laptop at home.

Can I say OMG region-free DVD player!!! I got to see all of “Moving On” last night–it’s essentially a four-act play, but it will bear a fair amount of analysis, I think–but it’s really amazing to be able to sit across the room and watch as opposed to staring at the screen almost point blank. I’d forgotten the seduction of TV, and so this may be bad. (I also discovered via the fiddling that was necessary to set things up that the TV is still receiving analog channels from the big country that is not very far from here.) But there are plenty of other DVDs I’d be delighted to own that don’t come in Region 1. This is the coolest thing!

So then there’s BBC Radio 4. Wow. I’ve had to stop listening to NPR here because I can’t essentially take any more bad news, and all that NPR ever seems to do is imply that the U.S. is so hopelessly polarized at the moment that we will never solve our problems. Sorry, I’ve got my own stuff to concentrate on. So I had been listening to DeutschlandRadio Kultur, which I have loved for years, and enjoy, but since “Clarissa” I am listening to all kinds of British cultural programs that are widely expanding my intellectual horizon.

I also started reading Far from the Madding Crowd because of the citation Harry Kennedy makes toward the end of “Vicar in White.” I have to put it down about every fifty pages because of the sensory emotional overload the prose is causing.

“Between the Sheets” should arrive soon, and I’ve ordered “Sparkhouse.” So the big question at this point is whether I am going to start watching Spooks 8 on the Internet, or whether I’ll wait till the DVDs come out. I can now watch the Region 2 DVDs, so the wait will be much less. Oh, and “Venetia” is just around the corner. I forgot to talk about audiobooks in this post. Oh well.

This is really getting “over the line,” as bZirk would say.

~ by Servetus on March 20, 2010.

7 Responses to “Intermission: Chronicle of a developing obsession”

  1. I’m driving our high school track team today, and while I’m waiting out the meet, I brought Venetia to read. I usually don’t even like books like that, but I’m reading one today, and why? Because I listened to Sylvester, and I understand from Heyer devotees that the Sylvester abridgment was not well done. So this time ’round with Richard’s reading I will be able to supply the missing details.

    Oh, and get this. I could not buy a used copy. I tried to order twice on Amazon only to have both orders canceled because they did not have the book in stock, and forget about getting it from paperbackswap. So I now have a brand new copy of Venetia in my possession, and it wasn’t cheap — for a paperback.

    I’ll probably reread Far From the Madding Crowd sometime soon and how lovely to picture RA as Gabriel. Oh, he would smoke Alan Bates any day. 😀

    Like

  2. I have put two reports on the backburner thanks to watching Impressionists, Sparkhouse, George Gently in order to find suitable screencaps for the polls I am doing. The problem is I cannot possibly just go in to a program to make a screencap – I end up getting mesmerised by RA’s expressions; the subtleties of acting in a scene that I have missed in previous viewings. I have LOTN in the car and have already read Venetia in anticipation of the audio. (I never used to listen to audiobooks!!). I also have a habit of lurking on forums – I am a notorious observer of behaviours and the dynamics of RA’s fanbase fascinates me. I would never have even contemplated joining an online group prior to seeing RA in Vicar of Dibley. I remember feeling very guilty about looking him up on Richard Armitage Online (almost furtively); then I joined imdb, then C19 and finally the AAs. I would never admit this at work and I admit that I don’t visit the forums as much as I used to especially since I discovered blogging.

    I’m not sure whether all this is healthy either. I remind myself that I am a woman of a “certain age” with three adult children and a health professional. Why am I watching an actor that is so much younger than me?! I think the answer is in the acting ability – it is not the thud factor. His work is an escape from what goes on in my “real” life. I am fascinated by the way RA is able to add depth to the characters he portrays; and the interaction between fans. As an outside observer, I am being allowed a glimpse of how an actor is developing his career – it’s in part like a roller coaster ride – I get quite tense hoping the next new work is greeted enthusiastically by the critics and reviewers; I am elated when there is success and downcast for the actor when there is a bad review. I guess it is like watching a favourite sports team …. Obsessive? Probably …. but in terms of the real life person, I don’t think I want to know too much. I prefer to get to know the characters he plays…

    (Sorry – huge comment …).

    Like

  3. bZirk: Thanks for this anecdote. Amusing that there is suddenly a run on “Venetia.” That makes me seriously happy.

    Mulubinba: Long comments always welcome here. I had the same problem with Dibley this week. I practically have those episodes memorized, and yet I found myself watching, and rewatching, and rewatching. The behavioral aspects of this fandom are fascinating, as are your admissions of guilt, and I share both your interest and your guilt. And even though Mr. Armitage is only two years younger than me (indeed, since my younger brother is 5 years younger, he could have been the middle child in our family), I worry about my fascination. There is a certain amount of “thud factor” for me, but if that were all it was it wouldn’t have persisted this long. His acting speaks to something deep inside of me. The question is only what.

    Like

  4. Oh this is so great to hear about, so I don’t feel so weird about my own obsession! I like Mulubinba’s likening it to cheering for a Sports team! That works for me…Go Richard!!!
    I watched episode 2 of The Impressionists today with my hubby and here’s how I explained myself to him when he remarked about RA being my boyfriend: I said, I’m not really in love with HIM, I just love his talent and I’d really like him to get married and make babies so we can have MORE people like him in the world!
    I wasn’t kidding either! LOL
    P.S. Venetia (the book) was great. Far From the Madding Crowd is wonderful, the book, the movie, and the miniseries with Nathanial Parker (of Inspector Lynley fame–love him!)
    Also watched the last episode of Season 2 Robin Hood today! Very brave of me — I was not really that upset, surprisingly. Love the extras on the last disc where they interview RA about the scenes. Also watched Spooks 7.1 again and cried about Adam getting blown to bits, damn Hermione for slowing him down!
    Love Lucas eating his fish and chips, etc. !!!
    My spring break is up, back to work next week. How will I survive?

    Like

  5. I have that awful “I have to work again tomorrow” feeling, too. Somehow it’s not better after one has had a week off.

    Like

  6. […] by the comments is the variety of work that different segments of the fandom consider most vital. The advent of the region-free DVD player was a turning point in my life, too. I am not planning a Richard room (I have a two room apartment and actually would like to […]

    Like

  7. […] to the laughter — I was grinning because once upon a time, I was concerned that I sprang for a region-free DVD player so I could watch some Richard Armitage DV…. It seemed like it was running into money. Approaching a year after a trip to London to see Richard […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.