Ever wonder what Richard Armitage struggles with?

Probably for obvious reasons, I’ve been wondering lately what Richard Armitage fights with himself about.

We know he fights a bit with his roles. Armitage has used the metaphor of “climbing a mountain” so regularly with reference to his roles (I remember that he made this remark in particular with regard to North & South, The Hobbit, and now The Crucible; there may be more). At the same time, since mountain climbing and skiing seem to be two of his favorite free time activities, we can hypothesize that he enjoys the struggle. He also seems to pick quite archetypal roles — men who are struggling with their past, their future, their pride, their desire, their shame — and has stated repeatedly that in his character construction he seeks the contradictions in characters and looks for the positive qualities in ostensible villains and the weaknesses in heroes.

Personally, he’s dropped intriguing clues all along — an early remark about struggling with fidelity, for instance; worrying that he wouldn’t be good enough as a teen; his frustration with the demand to feign cheer and enjoyment in musical theater; his fears of being unemployed with the result that he became afraid to turn down work; his concern that he might not be suitable for the role of Thorin Oakenshield and his conviction that others thought similarly. Recently, in an interview around the premiere of The Crucible, he talked about not liking laziness and especially not liking his own tendency to lie about having done work he hadn’t done. In December, we witnessed his remark that the thing that he covets (his Arkenstone) is respect, for instance. (I found that interesting because it is the inability to let go of the Arkenstone that leads to Thorin’s downfall.)

And then there was that intriguing statement that Sonnet 144, which speaks inter alia (there are dozens of readings of this sonnet, of which I am aware, and so is wikipedia, if you are interested) of the conflict between two angels, a fair / good one and a dark / evil one in relationship to the author. While he clearly sought at least in some measure to tease or provoke his audience with this choice, given that sonnet 143 and 144 have roughly the same subject matter, it’s interesting that Armitage selected the one darker in tone.

And so now I turn to the latest conundrum, which is why — apart from professional considerations that have to do with making wise career moves — Armitage would choose to play Francis Dolarhyde, a serial killer, in Hannibal. Several years ago he mentioned that roles that are not much like him are easier to play; and this came up again in the Chinese publicity for The Battle of the Five Armies, that a role like this was an opportunity to try on the skin of a very different personality than one’s own.

That remark intrigued me, because it pointed to something that I wondered frequently this summer while watching the flood of reactions to The Crucible, my own among them, and then after seeing the play myself: is part of the attraction of being an actor precisely the enhanced capacity it offers to abandon, expand, alter one’s identity in every role? Could you even choose a role based on the interest you had in exploring a particular problem in your own psyche? I wonder, then, given Armitage’s next choice for a new persona to wear for several weeks — is there something he’s working out for himself in this role? And if so, what?

~ by Servetus on February 6, 2015.

82 Responses to “Ever wonder what Richard Armitage struggles with?”

  1. I found myself analysing, possibly over anaylying, Richard’s choice of sonnet. He is an intriguing man. He’s the only person I truly wonder about.

    Like

    • part of the issue is that he si definitely dropping tidbits from time to time that are (without specific context) capable of many interpretations … 🙂

      Like

  2. Maybe he’s working out that choice to go with the perfect pearly whites…maybe he regrets not having his old teeth and hence the fascination with ‘grammas’ antique teeth. Or maybe he can’t get over not quite getting that Blake painting to hang straight on the wall as Lucas North or he needs to fine tune those tats. Sorry, my poor attempt at humour. Regarding the infidelity comments were around the time he was doing Cold Feet and Between the Sheets, I think it was around then, both of which had much to do with that subject. Perhaps he was working it out in his own life or perhaps just working out the issue in his mind because of those roles. For the Red Dragon role….I’m almost afraid to think of what he may need to work out in his own psyche for that one. The music he shared for the role on twitter yesterday creeped me out. Especially since I listened to it before bed.

    Like

  3. I often wonder if he has issues with OCD?? His level of perfectionism, his self-deprecating comments, and his fears. Just throwing this out there since my husband and son have OCD and I see so many similarities. He does like to taunt and tease us with his intriguing hints.

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment and welcome. I think very many successful people have mild features of OCD. I don’t know what the threshold is between people who have some behaviors like that and a diagnosis — but mildly compulsive checking of things can be a useful behavior for success in life. I had a boyfriend who checked the stove before we left the apartment — but he was a theoretical physicist and he also checked each calculation he did three times.

      Like

      • Person 1 checks if s/he has turned off the lights 3 times when s/he is leaving the house.
        Person 2 checks if s/he has turned off the lights 6 times when s/he is leaving the house.

        Person 1 feels ridiculos about her/his behaviour.
        Person 2 is making jokes about herself/himself and about “being extra careful because of the price of electricity”.

        Who is the one suffering of OCD?

        Like

        • well, I think one characteristic for a diagnosis is that the compulsive behavior interferes somehow with your life or makes you unhappy. If no one is unhappy, there’s nothing to worry about it.

          Like

          • That’s what I wanted to point out. 🙂

            We don’t know about Armitage, so everything we could say about “perfectionism or problems with OCD” is pure speculation – or APM. 😉

            Like

            • I think there are some visible indications of perfectionism, which is easier to see than OCD except in the most extreme cases. Spending eight hours sharpening an axe might be one of them. Even in the Spooks days there were signs that he is an over-learner (but this is not unusual among performers).

              Like

              • Ich zweifle nicht an seinem Perfektionismus (den zeigt er deutlich, auch mit z.B. den Charakteraufzeichnungen), aber wir wissen nicht genug, um zu beurteilen, ob mehr dahintersteckt als eben “nur” Perfektionismus. Bei solchen Fragen kommt halt auch gerne der APM raus – ganz allgemein, ohne irgendwen hier besonders zu meinen -, und auf den APM reagiere ich nicht sonderlich positiv (außer natürlich, es ist mein APM 😀 ).

                Ich bin halt auch der Ansicht, dass Richard ein großer Junge ist, der auf sich selbst aufpassen kann, ohne die ganzen Fangirl-Mamas, die ihn gerne an die Hand zu nehmen und auf den Kleinen aufpassen wollen. 😉

                Like

                • I certainly agree with the last statement although I don’t think there’s any problem with speculating about the first matter. I think we all see things in our heroes that reflect ourselves — that’s why they become our heroes, because those things are relatable to us.

                  Like

                  • Spekulation ist okay, solange es Spaß macht und nicht zu ernst wird.

                    seufz Das Problem liegt bei mir: Ich kenne einige Leute, die psychisch krank sind, daher bin ich bei dem Thema etwas überempfindlich.

                    Like

                    • see, I would say, it doesn’t matter how serious it gets, it just matters that we don’t beat each other up over things we don’t / can’t know. But that’s because I’m constantly being criticized for being too serious. I’ve appreciated how considerate people have been to each other on this thread, precisely because of that problem.

                      Like

                    • Das hatte ich schlecht formuliert. Ich meinte, dass die Diskussion nicht zu ernst werden sollte, nicht das Thema. Also das, was du auch sagst.

                      Dass hier ein paar Kommentare an meinen persönlichen Grenzen reiben, ist mein Problem, und vielleicht bin ich derzeit auch einfach ein bisschen empfindlicher als normal. Hat man ja auch mal. 😉

                      Like

                    • hang in there.

                      Like

                  • it’s the psychological definition of the perfect fan

                    Like

                  • I am slowly learning this very thing! I’m learning that I can examine my obsessions and find them in them a funhouse-mirror of myself. By carefully analyzing my feelings, I can learn more about myself and the world, which gives meaning to a “frivolous” hobby.

                    Like

  4. RA struggles with much the same stuff as the rest of us. Some of us carry more baggage that others, and based on my assumption of him, I would say he’s pretty deep, and he’s got his demons. If he hadn’t, he wouldn’t be such a good actor.
    He may have had a supportive childhood, but his career didn’t take off until he was in his mid-thirties. That’s quite late – for a man. Most men – also non-actors – embark on careers to top-management already when they are in their 20’s, right out of college. Richard’s career path has been hard-earned in many ways, and that’s why his Arkenstone is ‘respect’, because it’s come to him quite late.
    I, on the other hand, often wonder how long it takes him to shed a character, because he immerses himself to the extent where you don’t really know if it’s really him speaking, or it’s his character. Something that Sparkhouse1 touches upon above.

    Like

    • The thing is that if you’re concerned about something on that level, you may never believe that you actually have it.

      Like

      • The career?

        Like

        • The respect.

          Like

          • Ah, yes – I see. Well, respect is earned – ‘given’ by others. So to believe you’ve got it…wouldn’t that make you a tad presumptuous? And that’s not really Richard’s style.

            What I’m saying here is that RA has got ambition, he is hard-working (constantly working, by the look of it), he’s made personal sacrifices, I’m sure, to get where he is today. I believe that in his mind he hasn’t reached in his professional life what he wants yet, and being ambitious and hard-working may also rest in the want/need to be respected.

            Does it make any sense?

            Like

          • Oh, and I also assume he is a pretty complicated character in private, as well 🙂

            Like

            • I was thinking I should have titled this post “Broody Actor.”

              Like

              • 🙂 So, we are analyzing our way towards agreeing to his self-analysis.

                Or perhaps he’s much more light-hearted than we give him credit for?

                Just a final remark, before I go on wifi-free weekend. With respect to this Dolarhyde-role, I used to be very ambivalent about RA being Clairmont, but now, I’d say: “Go for it” if the opportunity arises. Enjoy your weekend!

                Like

                • I think it’s often precisely people who are broody inside who realize that and try to be lighthearted outside, i.e., there’s a sense in which a certain amount of melancholy leads to a sense of humor that emphasizes the absurd.

                  I also find it fascinating that while he used to talk about this feature of his personality less (being “broody”) he has talked about it more since moving to the U.S. I attribute this both to the pressure to be positive that one experiences in the U.S. (on the whole, Americans tend to be much cheerier than Europeans, and it can get grating), and possibly to a (self)-marketing move.

                  Like

                  • I agree as someone who is broody and tries to be lighthearted in public situations ;). I had thought he talked about being moody because he was always compared to Thorin, the broody king under the mountain. But there could be any number of reasons why he says why he says, I guess….

                    Like

                    • well, right from the beginning of his career, he said things that indicated some kind of moodiness (needing space, not living with someone because he could retreat into his space and be “a monster”), or inability to express feelings to people (the famous statement about how he got so angry that he did things that he couldn’t apologize for). So that thread of his self-characterization wasn’t new to Thorin, although he also said that the character he played that he was most like was Harry Kennedy. The moodiness theme gained energy with Thorin, though.

                      Like

      • Yes .
        Hope he has respect for himself .

        Like

      • Non-native speaker 😉 here:

        Bezieht sich “Respekt” im Englischen ausschließlich auf die Anerkennung im Beruf?

        Like

        • no, in general I would say if you say “I want respect” you mean in regard to whatever it is that concerns you most. I suppose I read it this way because I perceive him primarily on 2-3 levels, one of which is his career ambitions, and (as my writing about Thornton reveals) that is also a primary preoccupation of my life.

          Like

          • Die Kommentare drehten sich so sehr um seine Arbeit, dass ich unsicher war, ob ich die Konnotation vielleicht missverstehe.

            Danke für die Bestätigung der Verwendung. 🙂

            Like

  5. I am also utterly intrigued by the little hints he cleverly leaves begin for us to ponder on and chew over, but I am totally gobsmacked by his choice to play Dollarhyde. More on that at http://www.anewcreation33.wordpress.com

    Like

    • I find it interesting that you were gobsmacked because I totally wasn’t. In the interview he did with New York Moves last fall he talked about the need to believe in the motivations of his characters and the example he used was that if he was playing a serial killer he should be able to defend that person in court. That says, to me at least, that he’s been considering going after a role like this at least since then.

      Like

    • maybe you don’t know this, anewcreation, but if you’re going to make a general link to your blog as opposed to referencing something specific you’ve said, you should ask permission of the blogger first. This is the equivalent of spam and your comments will be on moderation in future.

      Like

      • Tried to reply to you yesterday but my internet connection has been playing up. I had no idea that leaving a link to one’s blog was classed as spam and I apologise profusely to the owner of this blog. It was never my intention to introduce spam to this discussion. On the contrary, I have written extensively on my blog about the recent announcement of Richard playing Francis Dolarhyde and about my own impressions on the news. I didn’t want to write a massive comment and felt it would be easier to simply post my link should anyone want to read my views further. Servetus, thank you for the alert! Mercedes

        Like

        • To clarify — it’s fine to post a link to a post you have made on that topic. Your link was a post to your blog in general. A specific contribution you have made in the past is not a problem. It’s the general advertising that is considered an issue. Your link on your name in the comments is considered a sufficient indication as to where you “are.”

          Like

    • I think anyone who is familiar with the many dark roles he has played in the past and the remarks he’s made about them would have been aware that this was a potential direction for him — starting with Ian Macalwain in Ultimate Force.

      Like

  6. I’ve wondered about what it is in this Hannibal role that pulled him in. was it the desire to not be judged by appearance, or the struggle to overcome some type of addiction, the feeling that you’re being ruled by two separate people on the inside vs the outside-and not having the level of control over them that you might wish; there are so many relatable facets to this character in spite of the horror aspect.

    Like

    • I agree, although that in turn scares me. I remember his remark about being concerned that he had made Guy of Gisborne too likeable …

      Like

    • Could be to reach a new audience segment? I’m being very cynical now, I know.

      Like

      • oh, absolutely — and it’s not either / or. I know you’r enot implying that but I get really frustrated with the “he’s only doing this to further his career” arguments. People’s motivations are usually multi-layered.

        Like

  7. The more I think about his choice to take on this role, the less I am shocked. He has mentioned in many past interviews exactly what you and other commentators have said, about redeeming the villians, looking for ways to play damaged characters, etc. It seems this is what he’s been hoping for. Immersing himself in all this darkness (yes, that music was creepy. ..and that’s coming from someone who loved NineInchNails and Ministry in college. ..lol) is interesting, however. Knowing, as we do from past roles, how he stays in character and finds it hard to shed afterward, this could be an interesting period for his “look” to come and his tweeted messages and interviews while working on this project. I’m betting on the fact that we’ll see a whole new side. I think, as in all of us as well, that there’s many facets of one’s personality that only comes forth when nurtured and developed. Interesting to watch him become this chameleon. Even if I still don’t plan to read the book, or watch the series, I will certainly be watching HIM -as it’s fascinating and intriguing. I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to look away. Not sure we’ll ever be able to fully know what he means with all the interpretations that could be formed by his remarks. He seems simple to figure out at times, then pulls these choices on us and becomes so complicated, that I wonder if he’s still searching for himself both personally and professionally (though I think that is the point youre pondering in this post as well?). Ever the mountain to climb….

    Like

    • Yes, exactly — I’ve been debating doing a post about my (new) central professional questions and the whole question of career permanency, which is why I am interested in the issue of what remains and what changes, and what aspects of ourselves we choose to grow. Of course we will never establish a definitive interpretation of him — just one for the moment, and one that’s based on our own limited knowledge. But the point of talking about it is to figure out something for ourselves.

      Like

  8. There’s certainly a lot to explore in this character, and I hope to have more ideas about that as I progress through the book. I can’t wait until the press releases and associated interviews come out, and I really hope he is offered the opportunity to answer these very questions, and also what kinds of things he did to prepare for the character, other than listening to creepy music, reading the source material and visiting the art museum, which we can assume from his tweets…

    Like

    • Assuming what he said about reading about mental illness and addiction for Thorin is the case, I’m guessing maybe that might be both an attraction here and a natural development / pathway for him as well.

      Like

    • Yeah, I’m also interested in learning about his preparation. I want to know his thoughts and feelings on mental illness and/or morality!

      Like

  9. To expand on a few points that people have made in passing here, I think that one dimension of the respect issue for him is about being valued for his acting and not just his looks. (He made a comment once about being a bit disheartened that the Spooks people rejected his idea to shave his head for immediate-post-prison Lucas, for example, because his hair was so important.) There’s also the struggle over work/life balance: he’s made clear the hits his personal life has taken for his acting career, not just re: not being in one place long enough to have a family but also in the early years not wanting to have a family because it might obligate him to take non-acting work if he couldn’t get acting work. I have to say that nothing about the Dolarhyde role or his sonnet choice seems surprising to me; he’s spoken for years about his curiosity about people’s dark sides, and Dolarhyde’s dark side just happens to be super-dark. His comments about fidelity are in fact telling, since they were couched in broader remarks about him working hard to be a good person, and that while fidelity is a struggle, he does stay faithful. So while he can overcome his darker inclinations, someone like Dolarhyde fails miserably to do so, and he seems to be interested in exploring what that looks like.

    Like

    • Interesting points you made, lief!

      Like

    • Thanks for the comment and welcome. I also think we have to factor in what people mean when they say fidelity; there are different cultural factors and factors internal to a relationships that impact what people mean when they say they struggle with fidelity.

      Based on what I know about Dolarhyde so far, though, I am not sure that I would describe his character as “failing” to overcome his darker inclinations. It seems to me that one way we could describe him (based on what I know — about which more later today) is engaged precisely in the struggle to discipline and control them. Given the amount of time that a serial killer puts into his project, it doesn’t seem like a failure to overcome them, to me, anyway.

      Like

      • Interesting. I haven’t read the book yet and freely confess to knowing zilch about Dolarhyde at this point. The one thing I do know is that he’s a serial killer, so to me, once your actions result in dead bodies, you’ve failed to overcome your struggle to want to take people’s lives. Even assuming some form of severe psychosis on Dolarhyde’s part, he has at a minimum failed to choose what the rest of the human race accepts as right over wrong, however he might decide to rationalize it.

        Like

        • I’m not saying it’s not generally considered wrong to murder people. I agree with that both as a general ethical principle that applies to me for religious reasons (lo tirzah) and as a description of general assumptions in the cultures I have lived in myself or with which I am familiar. I’m just saying I’m not sure that engaging in the behaviors sterotypically associated with serial killing constitutes a failure to overcome an internal darkness. I would have to know more about the character. There are behaviors that I consider horrible and unethical (honor killing) and would tend to call “dark” that are nonetheless considered virtuous, ethical, and justifiable in other settings, i.e., not dark.

          Like

        • Also, it’s interesting to me that almost no one points to the ritualized quality of executions in the West as a type of serial killing. Lo tirzah, after all. Why is that not seen as evidence of our failure to overcome our dark side?

          Like

          • Yep, I struggle with that ethical issue too. Executions in the West give the state the power over someone’s life/death. There’s some serious ethical questions there.

            Why is capital punishment not morally wrong? The best I can think up of is that society forbids people from killing each other over grievances/disputes, since the people involved may be biased and narrow-minded. Instead, they should deal with their disputes with the state-justice-system as mediator. So people give their power to kill each other to the state, for the state to exercise…since the state should ideally be more competent in making such a decision. (I find serious problems in this argument, so I do not endorse it. but it’s the best support I can think up of right now.)

            Like

            • well, I happen to be among those who think capital punishment is morally wrong, but it is legal. And yes, you offer the conventional explanation in political theory (the state is that entity that commands the monopoly of violence).

              Like

  10. This question provoked a strong emotional response from me (so strong that this shy lurker was moved to post for the first time — wow!). It made me wonder a lot about his life. Moving can be difficult — does he/did he struggle with his move from London to NYC? What about his relationships with his friends, family, peers, and significant others? Does he struggle with dating/romantic relationships or with desires for a family vs a career? Did he struggle with how to pursue his craft and whether to pursue acting or something else? Based on his comments, it seems like he does/did struggle with all of these things to some degree. But we aren’t close enough to know the extent of his pain and frustration.

    I agree that respect is big. But respect from whom? His family sounds supportive; people who have worked with him have nothing but praise for him. If he’s looking for respect from “everyone” or self-respect, that would be a long difficult process.

    Furthermore, it seems that on set, he does not easily switch on and off the character he plays. Is he upset about that, since it can isolate him from his coworkers?

    And I always wonder, about actors: do they struggle with who they are? Some definitely seem to have problems, and some struggle with mental illness, and in comparison, Richard often seems level-headed and sure. But as many have pointed out, he plays complex characters so carefully that it seems he is quite sympathetic of them. And to nurture that sympathy, it would help to have your own internal struggle with darkness. And perhaps….mental illness?

    I’m glad you asked this question, Servetus, because my response surprised me. I didn’t realize how much I idealized him until I realized that he might struggle with many things — some specific to acting and some universal. The details of his life are private, and I try to respect that. But when I think about these questions, I ache to know more about his private life. I hope he’s alright.

    Like

    • Wow — well, thanks! And welcome. We’re up for the emotional questions here.

      re: moving. YES. I think almost no one who hasn’t made a big move really gets this. I have made a lot of them and it has had a big impact on my life. I get so tired of hearing how he should have been working more in 2012/2013 when I think of how much work it has been to move from the US to Germany and back. If he didn’t find something that absolutely moved him, good for him, because all of those transitions are really difficult and given how many people are sort of “out of sight out of mind,” he probably had to deal with that on multiple levels after moving to NZ (as he said to one reviewer, “alone,” which he found difficult) and then to NYC.

      I’m guessing: respect from the industry, although I don’t know.

      re: mental illness — he said once in an early interview about having been unemployed that he wasn’t clinically depressed but that he had been down. Our society has been so busy codifying mental illness lately (to some extent at the behest of drug comopanies) that I think we lose our borders in discussing these issues. I get the impression that he feels things very intensely and has to protect himself because of that.

      re: is he all right? I tend to think so — the general tone of direct quotations made in interviews has been much more positive since the bitter moments of 2009 — but we will never really know.

      Like

      • Sorry for my innocent question: was 2009 for him a tough year personally or professionally?

        Very interesting discussion indeed – as you can see on the many commets. It seems to me this touches many because everyone can relate to this; struggling, failing, not being good enough (or thinking not being good enough…) and still fighting and hesitating to learn to love oneself.

        Hasn,t he said somewhere that a role finds him (was it Thorin?). As you said – why an actor chooses his roles has many levels and facets, and like every mortal he might have a thing or two on his plate. But why this role comes along exactly at a specific time of your life while you struggle with xyz? A mystery (or good pr – sorry, sometimes I,m a cynic…) This post resonates to me on many levels, like the one a few days ago about “fantasies” or the one about BTS many, many moons ago which urged me to comment for the very first time in December 2013 (and that in a foreign language – my kind of OCD – express yourself perfectly no matter what kind of language it is 😉 )

        Like

        • There was a period toward the end of Robin Hood that spanned toward the end of Spooks where there were a lot of statements about frustrations in the profession. Wishing he wasn’t “the gimp”; statements about frustrations with scripts. A lot of us hypothesized taht he didn’t want to take Strike Back especially much.

          Thanks for the kind words. I wouldn’t worry too much about your English if I were you, but if you want to write a language I can read (German, Spanish, French are the best choices) to be exact, I’m always happy to read comments in those languages.

          Like

          • Awwh, thank you! Although re-reading my commets from 2013 and what RA “would” have been working out at this time of life with BTS is now a bit unapproachable – might it be English or German. 😉
            Wünsche Dir noch alles Gute!

            Like

      • Thanks for your supportive reply. It made me really happy that I was welcome to post. I hope I have not gone overboard in sharing my thoughts.

        Like

  11. Okay, I have been reading all your comments and I am now going to add my 10 cents worth. RA is a genius as far as his professional life is concerned. I have known a couple of genius’s in my life. Not actors. In their professional lives, they are brilliant, mature, and striving for more ways to prove themselves. However, in their personal lives they are emotionally immature, insecure and definitely OCD. That comes with territory of being so brilliant. When RA tweets in-between his roles, they are sometimes silly, sometimes immature remarks. It makes me sometimes wonder are you really 43 years old. Look how he picks his cuticles when being interviewed. Very OCD and insecure. Also his struggle to get where he is today, has aggravated the insecurity, but he also has to prove to himself, not his fans, that he can go that extra mile, that he can obtain the impossible. That is to satisfy his strive for perfection, because that is what an OCD person is always after, perfection in themselves, so that they can respect themselves, and then they feel he can gain respect from everyone else.

    Like

    • Interesting points, Bernice. One does wonder what he is like (how mature/immature/serious/silly) in real life, as well as how confident/insecure he is. It is intriguing to ask whether he strives for perfection in his roles and in himself. It’s also interesting to dissect his “ticks” (touching his face, rolling his tongue, chewing on his thumb, etc.).

      However, I must note a few things. First, it is not clear who is tweeting from his account — it may not be him. Some of his official remarks (messages sent to fan sites a while back) have been silly, but even those were crafted with a complexity/irony that suggests that he wasn’t impulsively immature. Second, I think you could make arguments for either side on whether his “ticks” are a sign of immaturity or not. That set of behaviors is only one part of him, and we need to know more to know how mature he is. It is intriguing that, as the years have passed, he has not trained himself to stop exhibiting those behaviors on camera.

      Finally, OCD is an official psychological disorder. It has a specific set of criteria, all of which do not involve judgments of a person’s “immaturity”, “insecurity”, “brilliance”, or “self-respect”. I take it that in this sense, OCD is being used colloquially, as an adjective, so I can accept the way you used the term. I accept that, in your judgment, the people you have met have these character flaws and strength. However, I would hesitate in using those terms to describe ALL people EVERYWHERE who have been diagnosed with OCD by a professional. I would also hesitate to apply specific psychiatric diagnoses to Richard and extrapolate from that diagnosis what he is like. We know so little about him, so our assumptions could easily be flawed. I mean no disrespect: I find these discussions about OCD and Richard are really interesting! I just sometimes get nit-picky about how mental illness is discussed.

      Like

      • agree that it’s unlikely that all of @RCArmitage’s tweets are sent by Armitage himself.

        To me, your remark points out the problem with the bleedover of saying someone “is” OCD. I know there are people with such diagnoses who embrace this sort of language but it bothers me when we apply it to others as an explanation of their behavior. We run the risk of pathologizing behavior that is incredibly common and devaluing the term as a useful identifier for a set of behaviors that truly need assessment, study, etc.

        Like

    • I have seen highly gifted / talented people up close as well and I find it impossible to generalize, to be frank. There’s a stereotype about artists being mentally ill, but the standard at which such people are required to perform means that in fact it’s very hard to be in any way personally out of balance and successful, especially for actors (writers may be a different story because so much of what they do, they do alone). Nowadays, the excesses of a Peter O’Toole or a Marlon Brandon are not tolerated simply because it’s nearly impossible to insure them. I’m guessing that highly talented people do not have a statistically greater propensity to mess up their personal lives than ordinary mortals.

      re: OCD / perfectionism / immaturity / insecurity / picking cuticles: the reason that I profile that here is that I do it too! There is no necessary connection between these things. I am also a perfectionist, and it has plenty of negative consequences in my life, but I don’t think anyone who knows me would diagnose me with OCD or immaturity. I find it intensely enjoyable to chew on my thumbs; everyone has coping mechanisms; it seems to me to be a sign of normality that one might feel anxious in the situations in which Armitage is regularly exposed to the press and other audiences.

      What we see and hear of Armitage’s behavior and his performances and learn from eyewitnesses about them suggests that he has at least as much self-respect as the average mortal. That’s a different issue than being dissatisified with oneself. Self-respect is not the same as self-esteem; being self-critical does not mean that one lacks self-esteem.

      Like

      • I wonder whether he struggles , whishes or looks for :

        an international recognized career to win his independence against :
        [edited in line with the comments policy]
        -the cinematographic , theatre industry pressure,
        -his need of money,
        – his image of beautiful bodybuilder kid ,
        – his questioned private life
        – his seclusion in certain roles…

        So he goes where nobody expects him to go:
        – playing bad guy, social worker , murderer in series,
        – teasing with shocking incongruities, weasel words, ambiguous remarks,

        But remaining ( to catch or keep preys fans , to arouse interest)
        So is show-business and he wants to be part of it.
        – shy , nice , comely , pooch
        – in social networks exposed,
        – intriguing , interviewed, fashion photographed, bare exposed,
        -sending consensual best new year whishes, silly impossible choirboy resolutions.

        But appearing keeping crippling shyness, personal faintness, when he faces unsettling unknown situations ( cf in France on canal+)

        Because the ambiguities, the struggles can only provide an idea of destabilization,insecurity ,(illness), those who want to appear transparent , but grow up under the “sunlights”.

        I do hope he would succeed and become at ease with himself , well-being ,despite the growing fame. How many brilliant actors had failed !

        I am still “a fan” , but such with lights and questions in brain .
        Thanks to AT Lief Servetus’ writings.
        (Sorry not to write english -well ,to be a scientific I whished do be read if it is possible)

        Like

        • I agree that with whatever step he takes, he has a massive number of factors to consider!

          Like

        • Another great set of insights here! Thanks for your writing too :). Umm…I’m not sure if he’s taking on all these roles to defy expectations though. I wonder about type-casting. He’s mentioned before that people seem to think he has a “dark” look about him, which explains why many of his roles have a darkness to them. He’s said that he has not taken many romantic lead/comedic dude roles for this reason. So when I heard that he was playing Dolarhyde, I wondered if he had been typecast again :(.

          Like

          • The future will tell us .I look forward his next works ( and before the extended dvd version of bafa). I agree your comment. He perhaps have not lot of worth while ,no type-casting choises . Thanks

            Like

  12. You are both correct, Servetus and A.T. I should not have assumed and generalized as I did. I guess it is my training. I have done extensive Social Work training, and we are taught to watch out for all these little signs, plus I have worked and helped so many people with these problems. However, I don’t see it as a mental illness in the way you were suggesting, otherwise I would not have dared discuss it. Today, OCD, ADD, Hyper Activity is part of our everyday life. It is not a terrible mental illness, and so when I wrote the above, I was not diagnosing or pouting a finger at anyone. I apologize if I came across that way.

    Like

    • no worries.

      Like

    • I think you’re amazing, Bernice. In your reply, which touched me, and in the training/work you have done! I took no offense. In fact, I’m glad that you clarified your position, so I could learn how you think and feel on this issue.

      Like

  13. […] I’ve always been able to distinguish between Armitage the person and the roles he plays. Even as I wonder what Armitage the actor might be trying to work out for himself with the role of Fr…, I strongly doubt that it’s anything to do with the literal level of the role he’ll be […]

    Like

  14. Thank you A.T. You sound like a lovely person, and I so appreciate your response.

    Like

  15. […] it). He’s also indicated a periodic struggle with the demand to be beautiful over the years. We’ve noted before that this kind of role was thus likely to be of high desirability to him. And his tweet earlier this year really put a point on his desire not to be at least conventionally […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.