Catching up with Richard III

Wouldn’t it be great to see Mr. Armitage involved with a project he’s wanted to do for years? What a dream. Would you like to share the fantasy more actively? Sign the manifesto: Richard Armitage for Richard III!

The petition now has over 800 signatures — it would be neat if we could get it to 1,000 for Armitage’s birthday in August.

***

It’s King Richard Month at Русскоязычный Cайт Pичардa Армитиджa (the Russian Richard Armitage fan site)! There’s some beautiful art there.

As usual, where beautiful art, is Tannni is not far away. Below her creation: Porter as medieval warrior.

King Richard Armitage offers an explanation and links in English, along with other news around Richard III and Richard Armitage.

***

An author’s opinion on the advantages of romanticizing the past, at Fly High!

***

I got my “King Richard Armitage” petition bag this week. It’s cute, and a decent quality bag. I use a lot of bags like this, so it fits well with my style. Colors other than green are available. And then there’s that piercing stare. All proceeds donated to Armitage-selected charities.

***

That’s the news for now. It’s time for me to get on top of my own Richard III and other Armitage writing for today. Back in a bit.

~ by Servetus on June 13, 2012.

18 Responses to “Catching up with Richard III”

  1. You have chosen a nice bag there, Servetus. I hope you have lots of fun with it!
    Thank you for the wonderful King Richard topic collection!!!
    Tanni’s creation with John Porter as King Richard is absolutely stunning, with her combination of two warriors ;o)

    Like

  2. Tanni’s design is a classic. Thank you, Tanni.

    It is fun to romantisize the past. Perhaps as much fun to try to decipher it. Up to Mr. A now, post Thorin to try to move the project on. Fans are there, if it helps…

    Like

    • I actually think it’s dangerous, but studying the past is my profession 🙂

      Like

      • I would agree, but just as we have to draw a line between fantasy and reality (as a set of functional operating assumptions), we have to draw lines between entertaining fiction and drama, and the nuts-&-bolts of history as demonstrated by research and archaeology. The danger comes when we accept the romantic notions of fiction as real, whether they paint the past as worse or better than it really was. Often, the kind of truth delivered by fiction is quite different than the truth served up by history.

        Like

        • In the U.S. right now, I’m much more worried about the dangers of romanticization of the past than I am about pessimistic or critical views of it. In my opinion, by loving our bizarre vision of the past with such passion, we’re very much putting our society in political danger. And this tendency is very much supported by fictionalizers of history, who can be very dangerous. I don’t especially want to talk about this here, however. I have a post coming up on history vs biography and that might be a better place for the discussion. Or I may not publish it. This blog is supposed to be fun.

          Like

          • I’d like to read the history vs. biography piece. I guess I am out of touch with this trend in the U.S. What I see now from the European press disturbs me, because I cannot fathom why people embrace these strange myths. I’ll read a piece twice and remain dumbfounded.

            Like

  3. Thanks for the link for the bag. I’ve just ordered the same, in Royal Blue. 🙂

    Like

  4. 800 signatures… great !!! I’ve signed the petition a moment ago. 😉

    Like

    • Thanks for supporting the project!

      Like

    • That’s almost 300 more than when I signed. I’m glad people are showing thier support.

      Like

      • I’m really pleased, too.

        If anyone is still hesitating, please let us know about concerns. I know some people were worried at the beginning about putting pressure on Richard Armitage or trying to influence his career. The petition is emphatically not about that: it’s intended as a fun, creative way to show personal support for our favorite actor. We want him to do what he wants to do.

        Like

  5. […] about actor Richard Armitage) collected the latest news about King Richard on her blog   Me+RichardArmitage this […]

    Like

  6. I do hope you post on history vs. biography. Please?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.