I hate you even more now, Richard Armitage [spoilers for Red Dragon],

than I did a few weeks ago. Yeah, I’d actually planned to try the show first, but I ended up ordering the book from my swap club and it’s always easier for me to make myself read a book than watch television. I started reading it and had just decided as I started chapter 12 that it had nothing for me in it. I didn’t care for the violence, or the prose style; the sexism was annoying; and I found Will Graham as a main character basically uninteresting. He has almost no inside. James Lee Burke does this kind of damaged protagonist so much better, with just as much violence but so much more atmosphere. Lecter, too, I found a flat, unintriguing villain (not the horrifying spectre I remembered from the Jodie Foster film). I found myself pondering how much that was possible for criminals in the 70s has been obliterated by the tech revolution and the surveillance boom since 9/11. Mailing letters anonymously? Pay phones? Personal ads in papers? I was actually feeling a bit relieved. I don’t even have to risk being angry or out of equilibrium about this frivolity.

Why had I been so worried? My own struggles around this were starting to bore me.

red-dragon-thomas-harris-paperback-cover-artThen I hit chapter 13 and the letter about Becoming and the signature Avid Fan. OK, that’s interesting, I thought I’d keep reading. So was the thing about the nose print and the weird wordplay coincidences around the Chinese Mahjjong character. I read a bit further, though, and I found myself unsurprised by something Harris apparently wanted to slap us in the gut with: that Graham, too, has murderous impulses. I found the circumstances of Dolarhyde’s childhood both not entirely credible and just as I had feared: blame the (evil) women. When the stuff with Reba started, I also found that plotline not entirely successful. A blind woman invites someone she hardly knows from work to her apartment? Unlikely. After one date she goes to his house and sleeps with him? In a male author’s dreams. Sex is going to save him? One good fuck? Sigh. If only that were remotely credible. I know that the demands of genre novel writing give rise this kind of thing, but I wasn’t enjoying the story any more than I had been a hundred pages earlier. I was ready to quit, again.

And then, nothing to read in my car, so I pulled the novel out again to have something to read, and hit chapter 37. The Red Dragon’s extensive, punishing conversation with Francis Dolarhyde and Dolarhyde’s reaction to it.

Sock in the gut.

(The end of the novel is silly.)

I have to see Richard Armitage play that scene.

This crazy synchronicity, the kind of thing I always believed was coincidence. Here I am fighting with myself to write, to make myself free of all of the beliefs that hamper me, just when Richard Armitage picks a role with the possibility of playing chapter 37.

I’ going to have to be dragged kicking and screaming all the way, and this might be some of the harder writing I have ever done, but I have to see how Richard Armitage will play that scene.

~ by Servetus on February 17, 2015.

23 Responses to “I hate you even more now, Richard Armitage [spoilers for Red Dragon],”

  1. I look forward to you taking this one for the team and reporting on it extensively, since I’m still 100% in the “nope” camp.

    Like

  2. I think the role is in VERY capable hands, and has potential for greatness, providing the script allows him to go there. The schizophrenic uncoupling intrigues me the most. As well as the chemistry between Francis and Reba. I think the Will Graham in the Hannibal series is much more well-drawn and far more compelling than the Will Graham in the book… perhaps having seen the series and having that character in my mind blinded me to the rather bland characterization he had in the book. Oh, and Re: James Lee Burke… no comparison. His writing is definitely superior, and with Will Patton’s narration? Audiobook magic. =)

    Like

    • I’m impressed that you do so many audiobooks — I find i don’t have the patience, usually. James Lee Burke is just a superb author. I never know whether to wish he’d gone further down his original path of serious fiction, because those initial novels were great, or to be happy he did so much genre fiction because they are so enjoyable and there are so many of them!

      Like

      • I’ve listened quite a few of JLB’s works but none of his early stuff… I’ll have to check it out. I became devoted to audiobooks after I graduated but we were stuck in Stillwater while Hubby finished grad school… I had to commute over an hour each way, and now I pretty much listen whenever I drive anywhere, whenever I’m quilting, and whenever I have dull stuff to do, like laundry. Richard narrating had me listening while performing surgery and at the grocery store… LOL.

        Like

        • I used to listen to Armitage’s audiobooks while grading. Although after I talked about doing it once I was attacked in a way that made me not want to talk about doing that anymore … supposedly my brain was not capable of that level of mutlitasking … anyway, I recommend The Lost Get-Back Boogie; it was a Pulitzer Prize nominee. To the Bright and Shining Sun is also good — but it might be hard to find in print.

          Like

  3. I read the book so long ago I can’t remember chapter 37. Now I will have to refresh my memory and revisit the book. Thanks a lot, Serv. 🙂 There is so much that gets left behind or added when adapting a book for a movie or tv series. I hope the scene that you want to see is recognizable and survives rewrites and editing. I am skeptical, but hopeful.

    Like

    • I know. I’m worried, too. I think they are not going to be able to leave it out — it’s a major turning point for the story — but still.

      Like

  4. LOL! Oh daer! what is it?! 😀 what is it?! 😀

    Like

  5. Reba and the tiger is the scene that struck me the most. That’s the one I can’t wait for, with Dolarhyde’s reaction to it. I so hope they bring it to the screen. I don’t think Thomas Harris’s writing rises above the thriller genre, but the characters and situations he creates do. The film of Silence of the Lambs was the first thing to strike me, with the performances of Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster. I really can’t wait to see Richard playing Dolarhyde struggling to free himself from the Red Dragon. So many layers there!

    Like

  6. I’m planning to watch it. I have the book as well as a DVD of the movie with Ralph Fiennes. Read the book in little more than a day (had other things to take care of or I’d have finished it in one sitting). Mostly I felt pity for Dolarhyde — will be interesting to see if Richard can make me feel the same way.

    Like

    • Interestingly, I did not feel any pity for Dolarhyde. Just an astounding wave of identification with the character in chapter 37.

      Like

  7. […] I was going to have it. Period. I don’t understand why I wanted it and I wonder if — despite the things that are now drawing me to Francis Dolarhyde — Thorin is still hanging on to me somehow. If so, how? I need to write a lot more about The […]

    Like

  8. Yes that one scene made me understand why Richard may find it interesting to play him. Reading the book also explained why i found some things about the characters and plots in S1 of the TV series irritating. It’s not the Tv series itself, it is the source material that is meh, well in its genre just not nearly the best. The acting and the characters on TV are much better realised actually than in the book. Then i thought maybe i was too harsh considering when the books were written, the genre has moved on quite a bit since i think.
    In a book that didn’t really grip me and in which i didn’t sympathise with any of the characters particularly i found Dolarhyde’s unravelling the most interesting aspect. I think there is no way and also no reason to exclude it and it will be very interesting to see Richard play it 🙂 Everything else was one cliché after another. I was glad i liked Will from the TV series (or possibly the way Hugh Dancy plays him? ) otherwise i would have struggled even more getting to that particular chapter.
    Reading the book actually made me appreciate the TV series more than i did before, at least the production values and the acting. I still have a problem with the glamorisation of the subject per se but i will definitely want to watch what Richard does with the character, or more specifically with the way the character decomposes.

    Like

    • I just noticed the series 1 DVDs in my bookbag again this week … procrastination …

      Like

      • i’d only recommend a few episodes just for the purpose of familiarisation with the characters/actors 🙂 To save yourself from being distracted when you do watch the Dolarhyde storyline 😉 But i wouldn’t worry too much 🙂 i feel no interest whatsoever to go back to it before RA is on the screen. Funny enough the reading of the book freed me from any doubts i had why i am not getting it, why i am not that fascinated even though i recognise the actors are good and it looks pricey 😉 I also can’t say i remember much about the plot lines or details in retrospect, i have a sense of Lecter, playing a posh psychiatrist, of a much more sensitive and tortured Will than he is in the books and the detective pretty much as in the book, except i like Fishburne as an actor 😉 I bet you could get away with just watching maybe the first and last episode (sorry for the fans of the series who by now will want to kill me ;-)))

        Like

  9. […] you read the blog, you know that after I read the book, I felt that I had to see Armitage play the scene where Red Dragon punishes Dolarhyde, and that I compared my own inner struggles with writing to that […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.