Armitage perspective

My favorite kind-eyed Armitage pic at the moment: Richard Armitage at ComicCon, July 14, 2012, San Diego. This is how I want to learn to look at the world. Source.

I spent most of last night on the phone with a close friend of mine from my old institution, someone who’d been away when I left, and with whom my contact had become a bit tenuous. He’s back at the institution after a research leave and the problems there are rearing their heads to snarl at him, and he wanted to be in touch to ask advice about some of them. I don’t know how much my counsel is really worth, but I told him what I thought. I also told him that I hadn’t regretted leaving for as long as one second — I regretted leaving friends behind, and I miss a few restaurants and stores and cinemas in the city itself, but I shed not one tear of sadness over my detachment from the institution. I told him that while I still have problems, and weird PTSD moments, and probably will for some time, the trauma is starting to fade.

He asked me whether I thought it was the institution specifically that was the problem, that particular type of institution, or the world of academe in general. I said I didn’t know, but that I had stopped finding thinking about the question that way productive, since I could never assemble enough data to generate any meaningful answers. I said that I had started to ask, instead of what was causing the problem, rather what it was that I wanted and needed, and not which institution would suit me best. He asked me whether I had an answer. I said, I don’t know completely, yet, but I have to have a place where I can live out my creativity, such as it is, to the fullest extent possible, and where what I’m doing is valuable in itself and not because it’s instrumental to some other purpose. Where what I do is important because I understand it in that way and not because it follows someone else’s rules.

He’s someone who knows about the blog although he doesn’t read it, and so when he asked me, how did you figure out those things, I said, that has been the big lesson of blogging. And I realized he’s right. Blogging let me create a space that was about my own needs, and in learning to navigate the dilemmas that appear here, I’ve been practicing to how to recognize and fulfill my own creative impulses. A microcosm for dealing with a larger problem.

Armitagemania opened up my senses, and helped me confront some troublesome questions, and raised others, and compelled me to start blogging. Blogging found me people to come along on the journey with me, and let me have a place where what I think is important is what is dealt with in the way best suited to my own creative capacities. It let me see that what I desire is legitimate — not something shameful in need of discipline — and that writing is the way to harness to desire for my own ends.

He asked me at the end what I was going to do next, if I was going to stick with universities, and I said, I don’t know, but I never want to do anything any more that instrumentalizes and denies my creativity in the way that penultimate job did. For creativity I need to find this place of joy and enjoyment, and that’s the kind of job I need next. If it doesn’t facilitate every creative moment, at least it must not constantly denigrate them.

A year ago, I couldn’t have had this conversation; it would have devastated me. There have been a lot of moments of sorrow in the last six years and surely those moments are not over. But I’m stronger! All of these experiences have helped me to know myself better and also to start to look at the world and myself with kinder eyes. And then to express what’s inside. What a huge gift. I don’t always understand it; I don’t always succeed in my aims. Even so, I hope it grows and grows, because I feel best when I’m facilitating those feelings, of kindness and respect and concentration toward my creativity, which lets me work harder to be generous to others.

Thanks Armitage, Thanks Armitagemania, Thanks Armitagemaniacs.

~ by Servetus on August 10, 2012.

26 Responses to “Armitage perspective”

  1. You’re welcome 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy for you!

    Like

  3. I really have enjoyed the past few posts very much. I’m trying to pinpoint why these pop out amongst the others, which I also liked reading. I think maybe there’s some shift occuring in the author. Anyway, I’m happy this whole expeience has given you so much. I can certainly understand that, as I’ve gotten a few priceless things from it myself 🙂

    Like

    • I think there is a combination of two things going on:

      1) I was pushed against the wall both regard to my family and the fandom in July. I survived. But on some level I have no room left for stupid shit.

      and

      2) I’m going to be leaving here soon and the impending relief is palpable.

      Like

  4. I’m so glad you are feeling more positive about your life now. May you never go back to those dark days!

    Like

  5. I am glad that the healing process starts and RA is a wonderful medicine to get this process going. I wish you lots of more strong RA-tincture increasing your strength and well being ;o)
    Some daily drops, tablets or best, some cuddling, embracing and wrapping in your favourite pictures helps 😉

    Like

    • Yes, too bad I didn’t get to make that quilt this summer. Ah well. Maybe I can get ItsJSforMe to stitch me a pillow.

      Like

  6. Here, here — to Armitage, Armitagemania and Armitagemaniacs!

    Like

  7. I’m incredibly grateful to be part of this, your journey, making it coincidently a trip to my own issues and concerns. I bear repeating: Thank you Servetus, for sharing your worthwhile thoughts with us and I wish so many more senses of achievement for you. Try to enjoy your last couple of vacation days. Have fun!……
    … and whenever there might be a slight possibility, I’d invite you over to cook me one of your deliciously sounding meals…. 😉 Mmmmmh

    Like

    • You’d be welcome. Keeping in mind that I’m just a skilled home cook with a big motivation at the moment. When I get back to my apartment I’m sure it’ll be back to raw vegetables in dip, hardboiled eggs and sushi …

      Like

  8. I’m sure I’m not the only one to be grateful to know you just a little through your blog. I’m glad you feel it’s helping you, because sharing your journey so honestly is surely helping others as well. Have a great weekend, and thanks, as always, for writing.

    Like

  9. Are you ok? You’re not feeling optimistic are you? 😉

    Like

    • Optimistic, me?

      I think it was that I noticed that something I couldn’t have done a year ago was actually okay. I was thinking I would carry the scars with me forever and I won’t, or at least not the same ones. So relief? 🙂

      Like

  10. I don’t post often but i always read and enjoy your blog. It always takes me out of myself a bit – and gives me something to ponder. I still have your ‘Stay away from Armitage’ pieces tucked in my inbox waiting for a moment when i can spend some time reading and thinking properly. They seemed too good to rush.

    I’m not a writer and i think the reason i often hesitate to reply is because there are so many talented people here who can express themselves so well. I often read replies that say exactly what i would – only better!

    I hit a major roadblock in my life about 10 years ago – it was a desperately unhappy time to which i never want to go back. But it did make me change direction – i retrained and did a lot of work on myself. I realised that no matter how much $h1t was going on in my life (over which i had limited control), i still had the power to control how i responded to it. Your statement that you have never regretted walking away from that institution chimed for me – yes you live with the fall out but you also live in the certain knowledge that you did the right thing.

    I wish you well on your journey – and will be (quietly) cheering you on all the way.

    Thank you for sharing,

    bolly x

    PS: On a lighter note – what a lovely photo of RA. The way he is leaning forward and looking at that woman… and she’s not even looking back at him! Hand up anyone who would be looking at their notes if RA was trying to make eye contact? Not me for one.

    Like

    • You just wrote my thoughts Bollyknickers >^_^<.

      Like

    • I don’t think you should ever hesitate to comment because you’re not a writer. If you write, you’re a writer (to use the words of Peter Elbow). I spent years saying I wasn’t a writer. More than 30, actually 🙂

      I’m glad to have your perspective — knowing I can expect more affirmation of this decision down the road is a definite incentive. Thanks for coming along with me.

      Like

  11. Hi Serv,
    This is a beautiful post of reflection and healing!

    I take your journey to heart as I also strive to walk the path I want to. I have to come to terms with myself (and well meaning others) that leaving one path is not necessarily a rejection (of them and their earlier support of me)–nor that I’m “quitting” what I started. It’s just that, I found a new more creative path that gives me more joy–the path that I am on now.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

    • I increasingly have the awareness — based at least partially on this summer — that life is too short to engage in non-essential obligations. It seems rational to conclude based on family life expectancies that I have about 25-30 years of life left. I want them to be pleasant ones — not just time that I have to get through somehow.

      Like

  12. Amen to that! Your honesty is what I admire but your mastering of language and vocabulary I applaud. Armitage is just the cherry on top 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.