OT: For love or for money?

I want to write about at least two things but stuff keeps colliding in my brain and no amount of caffeine is going to make me concentrate on what I want to or filter out this stuff so I’ll just spew.

About the last ten days or so I’d come to the very firm conclusion that my middle-term goal should involve moving out of post-secondary classrooms. It’s not that anything bad has happened in particular (or anything worse than usual) — it’s just become clear to me that in my current setting and in many of the settings in which I am likely to find employment, structural and cultural factors prevent me from teaching effectively by ensuring that grading is going to provide my only opportunity to teach. It’s a longer duration struggle that was already hard in a setting where students cared about their grades but in one where they don’t, like the one I’m in now, I don’t know what to do anymore. I’ve tried to embrace this and accommodate it but it goes against my grain. Most of this generation of students in this setting has been tested out of its eagerness to learn, and I don’t have the energy to either restart their brains, or to grade with the rapidity that they would need to learn anything meaningful from me. I’ve solved my grading psychosis problem — but only in a way that makes it easier for me, not in a way that improves pedagogy for students. I am not instructing anyone; I am only participating in their credentialing — and that doesn’t appeal to me, especially in a setting where they have to borrow and borrow and borrow money to get a credential that may not be of that much use to them anyway in the current economy. I’d been thinking for a long time anyway that I needed to teach in a setting where the students had some motivation to learn that was unrelated to grades or grading — and there are plenty of things like that — skills that people want to acquire that I have and could teach if I needed to.

Thinking all this made work bearable yesterday. Informal indications are that I’m as good a lecturer as I ever was, or better, but I struggle with the whole problem of meaning. Can you tune yourself out during your own lecture? That’s what I feel like I am at risk of lately. That moment where you catch a little bit of what you’re saying and think, “I am tedious and boring.”

So the current provisional plan was to move as close to Wisconsin as I can, perhaps via a teaching job of some kind, with the goal of establishing residence in a state for the purposes of in-state tuition and then getting an M.A. in speech pathology or ESL instruction — matters that would allow me to teach people who were looking for something specific from me and thus would bring their 50 percent of the interaction. Where success would be measured by something other than a number I wrote. It would be absorbing work; it would only last eight hours a day; I’d be free the rest of the time, or at least as free as someone like me can really be, to pursue my own thoughts.

And then last night a friend who’s been unfailing kind to me over the years let me know that he’d nominated me for an academic position that he thought might really speak to my talents and preparation. And about a half hour later a personal invitation to apply for the position came from the chair of the search committee. It would involve teaching people who would be extremely motivated. It’s a campus I’ve been on a few times for other reasons, in a city I’m very slightly familiar with, so I had a concrete picture in my mind and I let my imagination play through how it might be there. I let myself think about what it would be like to do that job. I let myself imagine I’d be successful at it.

And now I’m actually thinking about applying. Letting all the professional stuff I’d edited out of my thoughts creep back in. Remembering that I didn’t want to apply for this job, either, but I made myself and it has turned out to be a kind of temporary salvation.

Didion says, why not have the option? Pesky says, no matter how you feel about the job itself, it could be a crowbar to change your situation here.

I heard the very very ambivalent song above last night for the first time. John Darnielle says: some things you do for money, some things you do for fun, but the things you do for love will come back one by one. And then he talks about murder, suicide and 1 Cor 13.

FFS. What is my problem?

~ by Servetus on October 23, 2012.

32 Responses to “OT: For love or for money?”

  1. You have options–that in itself is an enormous gift.

    Like

    • ‘What is my problem?’

      Over-analysis?

      Like

      • Inter alia. Over-analysis that interferes with happiness. I would also say — being ashamed of what I want; too much insistence on being consistent. Fear that other people will not be able to accept my contradictions.

        Like

  2. That is 100 percent correct.

    Like

  3. So, is anything preventing you from applying? What is there to lose by talking to the interviewers, and exploring the environment? Go for it, don’t you think?

    Like

    • I’ll second fitzg. If it does not cost you anything meaningful to explore the option, why not take a look? At worst, heaven help you, it will be a Learning Experience (please don’t hit me).

      Like

    • I just looked at the application, and it’s actually extremely low-commitment. I don’t have to send all of the stuff I might have to send under other circumstances.

      And who knows, maybe they’ll see it and decide I’m totally wrong 🙂

      Like

  4. Imagining is the first step to success. Isn’t it?
    The second would be actually applying. 🙂

    Like

  5. Considering the things I’ve done for love, a song like this doesn’t even begin to relate.

    Like

  6. Do you have anything to lose by applying? If you were to be offered and take the position, would it create a perceptible difference in your family situation? I can’t think of any other reasons not to explore the option.

    Like

  7. “Participating in their credentialing” sounds….empty. Aren’t there a handful of students actually interested in the subject?
    It’s terrible to imagine most students paying for education aren’t really interested in learning. No one wants a job where they feel unappreciated.
    I always ate up any courses in history/culture and literature. I wished I could attend your lectures! 😉
    We all know we’re supposed to follow our bliss – easier said than done when you need to make a living as well.
    And it’s easier for the bystander to say, but I’d try to find a place that gives me a better sense of fulfillment or purpose.
    And you don’t have a spouse to uproot…

    Like

    • Trudy, you can come any time. 🙂

      Interested students — people who are inherently interested, maybe 5% of students I teach (the topic is pretty esoteric). Students who can be motivated to be interested in either the subject or the related skills — maybe another 25% or so. It always leaves a big lump of people who are confused about why they’re there and so on. Every humanities prof teaches a large number of students who are mostly in it for the distribution requirements, which is fine. The large numbers I teach at once here are part of the problem — even harder to establish a connection. I also know what the connections are between what I teach and the skills these students will need, but they are often not interested in establishing those connections themselves and profiting from what is on offer. I should say, I do feel appreciated in this job, just not by students.

      And yeah, no family to move. A big blessing in an academic life in many ways.

      Like

  8. Hmmm….everything happens for a reason. I truly believe that. And this time is really intersting! 😀

    Like

  9. I am glad I don’t have to make such kind of decision at the moment 😉
    Whatever you decide I wish you luck and hope it will be the right decision!

    Like

  10. As has been said above: hand in your application and see what happens. I have a good friend who earns her living in a 9 to 5 job while her interests lie somewhere else entirely. It may sound enticing to you now but in the long run you may end up frustrated because it doesn’t fulfill you. Whatever you decide: I wish you could luck!! 🙂

    Like

    • I’ve definitely come to the conclusion that I couldn’t do a 9 to 5 that was completely uninteresting to me (or wouldn’t want to, rather — I’m not proud, I’ll work at whatever) but I do think that the speech issues would be interesting. However, there’s no reason that *if* I got this job (big *if*) I couldn’t still pursue those things later.

      Like

  11. Let the things you love to do gives you money and recognition. I wish you good luck!!

    Like

    • yes, and I’ll admit that the money is at issue. I don’t need to make tons more than I make, but I don’t want to make a whole lot less either 🙂

      Like

  12. You may be pleasantly surprised and might find it’s what you’re looking for …who knows unless you go see….otherwise put it down to experience!

    Like

  13. It has been a crazy week with my life, so I finally got to read this post on Friday. But it really summed up the week. My friend and coworker is leaving us to start a new life after a very bad spring and summer. Her soon to be ex-husband told her he was having an affair and who really knows for how long he just keeps telling different stories. They where to move in June to his new job post that all changed. She was in shock and didn’t know what was happening for one moment to the next. She did not keep touch during the summer, and I was worried what she would be like once we got back to school. The day of are meeting and kitchen setup she told me I have something to tell you but not now. Once we got to our kitchens she told the other girl and myself she had met or remet someone at her 25th class reunion that she had only at the last minute decided to go to. To make this short she has found love again and seems so much happier that she has ever been. She has decided to move in with him and take a job transfer to a big city two and a half hours away from her family.
    What I am saying is you need to do what is best for you, what ever that might be. I am finding that that also what I must do in my life also. I have taken my friends job as kitchen lead with means I am the one in charge and have to let our boss know of problems that might happen. I am ready to do that. I still am working my way to going to school for OTA also. As for going back to school for Speech, I think that job could be very rewarding just like OT or OTA. My goal is to get my COTA , but working on those baby steps. The new job also will look good later on too for me.

    Like

    • Thanks for telling me about this. I think the main lesson of this week for both of us must be: anything can change in a few minutes of time! Baby steps are a great reminder for me.

      Like

  14. […] next phase of this dropped this […]

    Like

  15. […] in which I feel fear and I just don’t let myself and that lets me act. Like for instance, starting to pursue this opportunity. And when the next stage dropped, and I felt ill, and then said I would do it anyway. When I noted […]

    Like

  16. […] that had been building since March but emerged toward the end of August in conjunction with a potential new job opportunity that I’ve been calling the “Erebor” […]

    Like

  17. […] then came the whole question of Erebor, last fall, and suddenly other lines of the poem slid into […]

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.