I’m a woman in her fifties with mainstream tastes

I’ve been teary all day. Christchurch one really got me. More than the fire-bombing of my students’ mosque, more than the shooting in the Pittsburgh synagogue, more than Sandy Hook, more than the shooting on my own campus almost a decade ago now — and there are probably more terrorist events marked on this blog that I’ve forgotten in the interval. I remember blogging about these: Paris. Beirut. London, several times. Kabul. Afghanistan six months earlier. Kabul the year before. Berlin. Portland. Manchester. Syria. Orlando. More that I did not blog about.

So many times.

Wisdom would say that I should stay away from the news for a while, which probably means staying away from the Internet completely, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to do that. So I will probably be here tomorrow, reading the news again.

So many times.

~ by Servetus on March 16, 2019.

8 Responses to “I’m a woman in her fifties with mainstream tastes”

  1. We had a mall shooting here several (10 or so) years ago. The department store in which the shooting occurred is still in business, and I shop there periodically. Even after all these years, I never fail to think about the horror that happened in that store.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Such a beautiful video! Thanks for sharing, Servetus. So appropriate for today. Made me weepy all over again.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH and I went out for breakfast this morning to our local shopping strip – a place where we are the white minority. Perhaps it was my imagination but it felt like after the Lindt cafe siege – with everyone being more friendly and kind to one another; silently showing that we love living in a country that has opened its doors to successive generations of migrants. And sad to think that in recent times the political dialogue has made xenophobia acceptable. That the perpetrator is Australian is both shameful and unsurprising. My hope is that this becomes like Port Aurthur – the moment in which we wake up and realise we cannot continue along this path, and take decisive action to ensure this never happens again.

    Like

    • I hope indeed that happens in your country. But America had that same feeling after the sandy hook elementary school shooting, the Marjorie Stoneman Douglas high school shooting, and the Cincinnati synagogue shooting. Outrage is high for a while, then life goes on and nothing changes.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fitting song, Serv. (((HUGS)))

    Like

  5. No words.💔 Just dismayed and despondent.

    Like

  6. No, the song fits. Fits now as it did then.

    Like

  7. Years of racism. Years of Islamophobia. Been teary all weekend and whenever I see a post. But not surprised. Just weary.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.